DIS 101: Life in a Homestay

I think the absolute hardest part of leaving Copenhagen next month will be leaving my amazing host family. Here are my top 10 moments from this semester!

10. Visiting Tivoli and Bakken

A few weeks ago, we went to the pre-opening of Tivoli (an amusement park in Copenhagen) because my host mom’s oldest daughter works there. We had an amazing time riding roller coasters and exploring the parks, and you can read about it here! We also went to Bakken, an amusement park right outside Copenhagen.

IMG_1168

9. Visiting the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek, and the Statens Museum with my host parents

When my host sister was away for the weekend, my host parents took me to see the Lousiana Museum of Modern Art. We were able to see beautiful paintings, sculptures, photographs and more from all around the world. It was a really amazing place to visit, and it’s even better to visit it with your two wonderful host parents! On other weekends where my host sister was away, we visited other museums in the Copenhagen area. These visits have been a highlight of my semester.

IMG_0716

 

IMG_1056

 

IMG_0722

8. Seeing the Round Tower

The first time I visited the Round Tower, it was with my host family. It became one of my favorite places in all of Copenhagen, and I have my host family to thank for it!

IMG_0789

7. Taking Selfies with my Host Sister

We take a lot of selfies… that is all.

IMG_1067

IMG_0585  IMG_0756

6. Celebrating my Host Sister’s Birthday

We celebrated my host sister’s 14th birthday in March, and it was an amazingly fun experience! It was great to see what a traditional Danish birthday party is like.

5. Going to Zumba with my Host Sister

Going to Zumba was quite the experience! Since I don’t speak Danish, I had to just try to follow the instructor. My host sister did a great job translating the directions for me!

4. Visiting the Blue Planet with my Host Sister

A few weeks ago, my host sister and I went to the Blue Planet, Copenhagen’s Aquarium. We had a wonderful time, and she showed me an amazing park on the way back where I go for runs now.

IMG_1164

 

3. Watching Movies Together

We’ve watched some great movies together! My host sister showed me her favorite: Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief. I showed my host family School of Rock, and we are watching the Sound of Music tonight. These movie nights are a great chance to relax and spend time together on the weekends.

2. Laughing Together

As with any group of people from different cultures, there are bound to be a few miscommunications! When we picked up my host grandmother to go out to dinner a few weeks ago, she told me that her husband was staying at home and would eat some “snakes” with friends. I was immediately very confused, and I started to think I had come across some different element of Danish cuisine. However, the look on my host father’s face told me that I had reason to be confused! “Snakes?!,” he said, and my host grandmother insisted they were having snakes. After some quick translations, we realized that the true meal was “snacks.” 🙂

1. Eating Together

Every night, I have dinner with my host family. I look forward to these meals, because they are an opportunity to relax together and talk about our days. We talk about Danish life, American life, and life in general. We laugh, we joke around, and we enjoy great food with big smiles on our faces.

IMG_1093

This is currently the background on my host sister’s phone, and it’s one of my favorite pictures from my time in Denmark.

As the time is ticking away in Copenhagen, I’m starting to realize that there is nothing I will miss more than these experiences with my amazing Host Family!

foto

Leave a comment